You wouldn't think there would be any animal products in something like a gummy candy would you? Well there is and it's called Gelatin. Gelatin is a mixture of peptides and proteins produced by partial hydrolysis of collagen extracted from the skin, boiled crushed horn, hoof and bones, connective tissues, organs and some intestines of animals such as domesticated cattle, chicken, pigs, and horses. Wiki Source
Partial alternatives to gelatin include non-animal gel sources such as agar-agar, carrageenan (both seaweed extracts), pectin, and konjak.
I like to know what it is I'm eating and I have to say Gelatin sounds and looks much better on packaging than pig skin, bones, horns and hooves. I can see the point of trying to hide it! It really doesn't take much time to read the label to see what's in our food. It's not just about what we are eating might be gross it's about not having the right to kill any living animal for our culinary consumption!
Just me :~)
Vegetarian To Vegan
It's about knowing what I'm eating and buying... And then I can choose. So can you!